Supporting Michigan

Members of the Harvard Business Club of Michigan have a passion for helping those in the surrounding communities. Over the past  dozen years, the HBSMI club has raised significant funds for a scholarship program established to reward exceptional leaders who exemplify dedication, commitment and the pursuit of excellence within the non-profit sector.

These scholarships benefit the CEO’s of various Michigan non-profit organizations who, in recognition of their outstanding service, have been selected to attend “Strategic Perspectives for Non-Profit Management,” an intensive six-day course presented each summer at the Harvard Business School.

With these scholarships, the Harvard Business School Club of Michigan has now sent 31 non-profit leaders from metropolitan Detroit to this program since 1999 including four non-profit CEO’s in July of 2012.  These individuals and their organizations provide a wide range of services to more than 300,000 Michiganders.  The program presents significant opportunities for these outstanding and committed non-profit community leaders to expand their skills and contributions, a benefit to all Michigan citizens.

In addition, since 2007 these highly motivated leaders have been meeting with Club members on a regular basis to collaborate, to be a resource for each other and to continue their exposure to various HBS concepts such as performance measurement, balanced scorecard, etc..  These meetings and the relationships engendered have been well received and have all participants recognizing that their efforts are “making a difference” in the community.

HBSCM - Non-Profit Awardees

2015 N. Charles Anderson - Urban League Detroit

2015 Donna Murray-Brown - Michigan Nonprofit Association

2015 Tim Ruggles - Habitat for Humanity Oakland

2015 Veronika Scott - Empowerment Plan

2014 Daniel S. Carmody - Eastern Market: President

2014 Hassan Jaber - ACCESS: Executive Director

2014 Juanita Moore - Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History: President & CEO

2014 Leah Rosenbaum - JVS: President & CEO 

2013 Sharlonda Buckman - Detroit Parent Network

2013 Che'row Johnson - COTS

2013 Perry Ohren - Jewish Family Services

2013 Alice Thompson - Black Family Development 

2012 Ryan Hertz – South Oakland Shelter

2012 Gilda Jacobs – Michigan League for Human Services

2012 Jason Lee - Detroit Area Pre-College Engineering Program

2012 Richard Loewenstein - JARC

2011 Penny Bailer – City Year Detroit

2011 Kyle Caldwell – Michigan Nonprofit Association

2011 Michael Tyson – Nonprofit Enterprise at Work

2011 Kari Walker – The Guidance Center

2010 William Jones - Focus:Hope

2010 Lorna Utley – Goodwill Industries

2010 DeWayne Wells - Gleaners Community Food Bank

2010 Heaster Wheeler - NAACP Detroit, now the Assistant CEO, Wayne County 

2009 Sheilah Clay - Neighborhood Service Organization

2009 Ann Kalass – Starfish Family Services

2009 Dara Munson - Big Brothers Big Sisters

2009 Michael Williams - Orchards Family Services

2008 Mary Grace McCarter - The Rainbow Connection

2008 John Van Camp - Southwest Solutions

2008 Daniel Varner - Think Detroit/PAL, now at Excellent Schools Detroit 

2008 John Ziraldo - Lighthouse of Oakland County

2007 Michael Earl - Oakland Family Services

2007 Amy Good - Alternatives for Girls

2006 Monica Duncan - First Children's Finance

2006 Marn Myers - Judson Center

2005 Agostino Fernandes - Gleaners Community Food Bank, now at North Texas Food Bank 

2004 Dorothy Deremo - Hospice of Michigan

2003 Eleanor Josaitis - Focus:Hope (past CEO)

2002 Noreen Keating - Lighthouse of Oakland County (past CEO)

2001 Barbara Nurenberg - Jewish Vocational Services

2000 Ernestine Sanders - Cornerstone Schools Association

1999 Cameron Hosner - Vista Maria, now at Children's Hospital of Michigan Foundation